What is Brahmarandhra

To understand Brahmarandhra, one needs to have an understanding of the body chakras. Prior to trikuti or the third eye chakra there are 5 chakras in the human body. Those 5 lotuses or chakras are as follows

  1. Mool Kamal (Root Chakra): in this chakra resides Lord Ganesha: It has four petals. There is a mantra to open its entrance door, which is the fundamental mantra of worshiping Lord Ganesha. By practicing it, Lord Ganesha starts giving immediate results and opens the door for the soul. Then, the soul proceeds towards the Swadhisthana chakra because the soul needs to go to that realm where the Supreme Being resides. After reaching there, the practitioner does not return to the worldly existence.
  2. Swadhisthana Kamal (Sacral Chakra): It has six petals. Shri Brahma Ji and his consort Savitri Ji reside here. There is a mantra to open its door, which, when practiced, gets opened by Brahma Ji. Then, the soul proceeds upwards towards the Nabhi Kamal.
  3. Nabhi Kamal (Navel Chakra): It has eight petals. Shri Vishnu Ji and his consort Lakshmi Ji reside here. Its door remains closed as well. There is a mantra to open it, which, when chanted, impresses these deities and makes them pleased, opening the door for the soul. Then, the soul proceeds towards the heart chakra.
  4. Hriday Kamal (Heart Chakra): It has twelve petals. Shri Shiv Ji and his consort Parvati Ji reside here. Its door remains closed too. Chanting a specific mantra opens this door, attracting these deities, who then guide the soul. Then, the soul proceeds upwards towards the throat chakra.
  5. Kanth Kamal (Throat Chakra): It has sixteen petals. Goddess Durga (Ashtangi) resides here. Its door also remains closed. There is a mantra to open it, and upon being impressed and pleased, Goddess Durga opens the door for the soul. Then, the soul proceeds towards the Trikuti Kamal.

Beyond the Kanth Kamal is the Trikuti Chakra.

Trikuti Kamal (third-eye chakra) & Triveni

Trikuti Chakra has two petals, one black and the other white. Param Akshar Brahm is manifest as a saint in the white one. His designation is Satguru. Kal Brahm also manifests as a saint in the black one. He also assumes a form similar to Param Akshar Brahm to deceive souls and keep them in his illusion. After reaching this stage, the soul realizes its true state, akin to someone who has gone abroad. To return home, they reach the airport. From there they are made to board the flight to their destination. 

From trikuti, the soul is taken directly to the court of Dharmaraj (the judge). There, everyone's deeds are accounted for. Then, depending on whether one is a devotee of Shri Vishnu Ji, Shri Shiv Ji, or any other deity, or a practitioner of Mother Shri Durga Ji, one is sent to their respective abodes. Others who are sinful are sent to hell or the bodies of other beings as per their deeds. Read more on Trikuti.

One part of Trikuti leads to Triveni. What exactly is triveni?


Triveni means there ways or three paths. At one portion of trikuti there are three way. The left route goes to Dharamrai's lok. On the right-side there is a way to 88,000 (khede) places of Rishis / sages. The central route goes straight ahead and goes towards the Sahasrara Kamal or Crown Chakra. This is called the Brahmarandhra.

Sahasrara Kamal (Crown Chakra) and Brahmarandhra

Sahasrara Kamal has one thousand petals. Kal Brahm (Jyoti Niranjan) resides here. The entrance to Brahmlok is called Brahmarandhra, which remains closed too. There is a two-letter mantra to open it, which needs to be chanted.

  • Special Note: Due to lack of complete spiritual knowledge, practitioners do not chant the 'Om' mantra correctly. As a result, they do not reach the Brahmarandhra. Those who chant 'Om Namah Shivaya', 'Om Bhagavate Vasudevaya Namah', etc., are sent to the abodes of Lord Shiva or Lord Vishnu, respectively. Om alone does not open the Brahmarandhra. It opens only through the true name (Satnaam). The true name is of two letters. Due to the inability to open the Brahmarandhra, one is sent to the abodes of Vishnu or Shiva because those who chant the 'Om Namah' mantra always add the tinge of their chosen deity's mantra. Then, one becomes a ruler on Earth, then goes into animal forms.


The central path which goes straight ahead is called the Brahmarandhra. This route goes to a lotus (kamal) with sahasrar (one-thousand) petals. It is therefore called Sahasrar Kamal. This is Kaal’s (Brahm) Mahaswarg (Great-Heaven). On reaching there one hears the sound of a bell and conch shell. Sparkling lights are also seen there.

When a worshipper moves towards Brahmarandhra, then a whole army of Yam doots (messengers of Yam, the God of death) and demonesses of terribly horrifying appearance is present there. That army of Kaal can neither be conquered by ‘Om’ naam, nor by Kiliyam’, nor by Hariyam', nor by SohM, nor by Jyoti Niranjan-Rarankar-Omkaar-SohM-Shakti (Shriyam'), nor by Radhaswami, nor by Akaal moort-Shabd Swaroopi Ram or SatPurush, or by any other arbitrary naams. They can only be countered by recitation (via breaths) of Satnaam (True Naam Mantra) granted by a true saint. That then strikes them like arrows and consequently, they run away.

How can Brahmarandhra be Opened?

Brahmarandhra can only be opened by recitation of satnaam. By recitation of Satnaam the path becomes clear as the messengers of death god run away; Brahmarandhra then opens up, and the worshipper crosses into the Brahmlok where Kaal (Brahm) is present in his actual Viraat form. Kaal blocks the 11th door with his head stuck to the opening. On recitation of satnaam  Kaal’s head automtically bows down and the 11th door opens up. The worshipper then steps on the head of Kaal and enters into the 11th door and thus, it enters ParBrahm’s lok. From here one goes towards the 12 door to achieve salvation. Read more on Salvation.

We use our own or third party cookies to improve your web browsing experience. If you continue to browse we consider that you accept their use.  Accept