Subtle Body Covers

Body Covers - Sharir

There are various layers over the soul. Out of all of these the visible body is called the Sthul Sharir. The other layers are not visible to naked eye. The various body layers are mentioned below.

  1. Sthul Sharir (स्थूल शरीर)
  2. Suksham Sharir (सूक्ष्म शरीर)
  3. Karan (कारण)
  4. Mahakaran (महा कारण)
  5. Kaivalya (कैवल्य)

The final element is the soul itself called "aatm tatva" (आत्म तत्व). When one achieves salvation, only aatm tatva remains. All the other body layers are destroyed. There are various stages whereby the soul gets rid of these body layers at different levels.

Aim of Human body - Sthul Sharir (स्थूल शरीर)

The main purpose of human life is to do true worship whilst one is still in their Sthul Sharir (स्थूल शरीर) with an aim to achieve transcendental peace and everlasting eternal place (Satlok). Shri Krishna in Shrimad Bhagavad Gita Chapter 18 verse 62 has given this message to go into the refuge of Supreme God. Shri Krishna has clarified that only by the grace of Supreme God, one can achieve the everlasting place.

Bhagavad Gita Chapter 18 verse 62

Tam, ev, sharnm, gachchh, sarvbhaaven, bharat,
Tatprsaadaat, paraam, shaantim, sthaanm, praapsyasi, shaashvatam ||62||

Translation: Oh Bharat! You, in every respect, go in the refuge of only that Supreme God. By the grace of that Supreme God only, you will attain the supreme peace and the everlasting place (shasvat sthan) i.e. Satlok.

How does Sthul Sharir (स्थूल शरीर) end

Sthul Sharir (स्थूल शरीर) comes to an end when one dies. The Sthul Sharir (स्थूल शरीर) is left on this earth (burnt or buried). The soul then starts the journey via the means of Suksham Sharir (सूक्ष्म शरीर) as it passes through all the chakras of human body to reach the Trikuti

The boundary of Kaal lok or Brahmlok is the summit of 21 Brahmands. This is where the 11th door is. 10th door or the dasam dwar (दसम द्वार) is the door for entry into Brahmlok. This door is located at triveni in trikuti. The exit from Brahmlok into the universe of Par Brahm is the 11th door. 

How do Suksham Sharir (सूक्ष्म शरीर), Karan (कारण) and Mahakaran (महा कारण) end

When the soul crosses from the 10th door to the 11th door, the earnings of "Om" (ॐ) jaap are given to Kaal or Brahm. When this debt is given to Kaal, Suksham Sharir (सूक्ष्म शरीर) comes to an end. 

In Bhagavad Gita Chapter 18 verse 66, an indication towards this has been given.

Bhagavad Gita Chapter 18 verse 66

Sarvdharmaan, parityajya, maam, ekam, sharnam, vraj,
Aham, tva, sarvpaapebhyaH, mokshyishyaami, ma, shuchH ||66||

Translation: Relinquishing all my religious practices in me, you go in the refuge of only that one unique i.e. Complete God. I will release you from all the sins. You do not grieve.

Here Kaal in the body of Shri Krishna is saying that once you pay my debt and then I will let you go into the place of another Supreme God.

How do Karan (कारण) and Mahakaran (महा कारण) Sharir end

Once the earning of Om mantra have been given to Kaal, Suksham Sharir (सूक्ष्म शरीर) ends. Now Karan (कारण) and Mahakaran (महा कारण) end with the recitation of saarnaam (सारनाम).

This saarnaam has been described in Shrimad Bhagavad Gita Chapter 17 verse 23. It is an indication towards saarnaam. ॐ , Tat, Sat is the indication towards saarnaam. The real saarnaam can only be given by a Complete Saint.

Bhagavad Gita Chapter 17 verse 23

ॐ , Tat, Sat, iti, nirdeshH, brahmnH, trividhH, smrtH,
BraahmnaH, ten, vedaH, ch, yagyaaH, ch, vihitaH, pura ||23||

Translation: ॐ / Om mantra of Brahm, Tat - this is coded mantra of ParBrahm, Sat - this is coded mantra of Purna Brahm. In this way, there is direction of rememberance of three types of mantras of Purna Parmatma, and in the beginning of nature, based on that very Tatvgyan, the scholars created Vedas and yagya etc. They used to worship according to that.

How does Kaivalya Sharir (कैवल्य शरीर) come to an end

When soul crosses the 11th door and enters into the universe of Par Brahm, only Kaivalya Sharir (कैवल्य शरीर) remains. By this stage Suksham Sharir (सूक्षम शरीर), Karan (कारण) and Mahakaran (महा कारण) Sharir have already finished. The brilliance of Kaivalya Sharir (कैवल्य शरीर) is equivalent to the brightness of 12 suns.

On entering the Bhanwar Gufa (passage beyond the 11th door is called Bhanwar Gufa) Satguru (Complete Saint) gives this soul a bath in the maansarovar (मानसरोवर) nectar lake. On taking a dip in the maansarovar (मानसरोवर) nectar lake, Kaivalya Sharir (कैवल्य शरीर) also comes to an end and the soul appears in its "aatm tatva" (आत्म तत्व) form. The brilliance of "aatm tatva" (आत्म तत्व) is equivalent to the brightness of 16 suns. 

At this stage the soul can cross the 12th door and enter into Satlok (everlasting / eternal place). This is the true meaning of complete salvation or liberation or moksha.

Gain full information about Path to Satlok and Body Chakras.

We use our own or third party cookies to improve your web browsing experience. If you continue to browse we consider that you accept their use.  Accept